Understanding Certifications: ETL Listed vs ETL Recognized

Learn electrical certification differences and why ETL Listed products like Docking Drawer outlets simplify installation and reduce risk for installers.
ETL Listed

Certifications ensure the safety and reliability of electrical products in the US and Canada. Among the most recognized certifications are those issued by Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratories (NRTLs), such as ETL and UL. Both certifications indicate that a product meets stringent safety standards and falls into a distinct category: Listed or Recognized.

ETL vs. UL: Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratories

ETL, which stands for Electrical Testing Laboratories, was founded by Thomas Edison and has a long history of product testing and certification. The ETL mark signifies compliance with North American safety standards. UL, or Underwriters Laboratories, has been a leader in product safety testing for over a century. The UL mark is widely recognized and trusted, symbolizing rigorous safety standards. ETL and UL are two prominent NRTLs serving the US and Canadian markets. Products certified by either laboratory have undergone thorough testing to meet applicable safety and industry standards.

Recognized vs. Listed Certification Categories

"Recognized" certification typically applies to individual components within a larger product. This category is essential for manufacturers who use these components in their assemblies. Recognized certification applies to components intended for use in larger assemblies. The responsibility for ensuring the final product meets all relevant safety standards lies with the installer or assembler. The liability for testing falls on the installer, not the component manufacturer. The installer bears the costs of further testing and certification to ensure the complete product's safety. Consequently, the installer has a greater responsibility and liability burden.

"Listed" certification applies to the entire assembly, not just individual components. This category is more comprehensive and has significant implications for manufacturers and installers. Listed certification applies to the entire product, ensuring the whole assembly meets industry and safety standards. The manufacturer is responsible for the product's safety and compliance. The liability for testing and ensuring compliance lies with the manufacturer. No additional certification or costs are required for the installer or specifier; the product is ready for use. Thus, the burden of responsibility and liability is on the manufacturer, reducing risk and cost for the installer.

Docking Drawer Certifications: ETL Listed

Docking Drawer outlets exemplify the benefits of the Listed certification. Our outlets are ETL Listed, meaning they meet all relevant safety and industry standards as complete assemblies. This has significant advantages for specifiers and installers. Docking Drawer, as the manufacturer, assumes all responsibility and liability. There are no additional certification or testing costs for the installer, simplifying the installation process. The risk associated with installation is significantly reduced as the product is fully certified and compliant out of the box. View our complete list of certifications here.

Understanding the difference between Listed and Recognized certifications is crucial when selecting electrical products. Listed products, such as Docking Drawer outlets, offer a lower risk and cost to the installer, as the manufacturer assumes responsibility for compliance and safety. Recognized components require the installer to ensure the final assembly meets all safety standards, which can be more complex and costly. Choosing Listed products provides peace of mind and simplifies the installation process, making it a preferable choice for many professionals in the industry.

Sign up to Receive a Special Offer

Subscribe to Docking Drawer's Newsletter to stay up to date with the latest bits, tips, trends and savings.